Skip to main content

The Civil War and Reconstruction: Cite Your Sources

Be A Good Digital Citizen

Citation Tools

Don't forget to use EasyBib to help keep track of your information sources and cite them properly in your bibliography.  

MLA Format Citation Quick Reference

PRINT:

1.           Book

Lastname, Firstname.  Name of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, year.  Print.

Example:  Smith, Charles.  Killer Whales. New York:  Houghton Mifflin, 2003.  Print.

2.             Encyclopedia article

 

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Article.”  Name of Encyclopedia.  Edition ed.  Year.  Print.

Example (no author):  “Gladiator.”  The New Encyclopaedia Britannica: Micropaedia. 15th  ed. 2002.  Print.

 

ELECTRONIC: (please note that the URL should be included only if the reader would have a hard time locating the resource without it.  Therefore, only the website example below includes URL as an option.  MLA Handbook, 7th Ed.)

 

3.          Online Encyclopedia article

 

Lastname, Firstname.  “Title of Article.”  Name of Encyclopedia.  Year.  Web.  Date of access.

 

Example:  Smith, Harold.  “Lion.”  World Book.  2012.  Web.  5 October 2012.


 

4.          Website

 

Lastname, Firstname.  “Title of Article.”  Title of Website.  Publisher/sponsor of website, date of publication or last update.  Web. Date of access.  <website address>.

Example:  Weisstein, Eric.  “The Meaning of Pi.”  MathWorld.  Wolfram Research, 30

                     Apr. 2010.  Web.  22 July 2010. <mathworld.wolfram.com>.

5.          Database reference work

 

Lastname, Firstname.  “Title of Article.”  Title of Reference Work.  Date of publication or last update.  Title of Database.  Web.  Date of access.

 

Example (no author):  "Iroquois."  Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life.   

                                    2009.  Gale Virtual Reference Library.  Web.  3 Aug. 2010.



 

6.          Database article

 

Lastname, Firstname.  “Title of Article.”  Title of Magazine issue date: page(s) of article.  Title of Database.  Web.  Date of access.

Example:  Lopata, Peg. “Protecting China’s Great Wall.”  Faces: People, Places, and

                    Cultures May 2007:  26+.  GeneralOneFile.  Web.  23 July 2010.

 

For ALL entries, use these additional rules:

·      For two or three authors, add whole names after Firstname, separated by commas.

·      For more than three authors, add “et. al.” after Firstname,

·      For editor, add “Ed.” after name

·      If no author given, begin entry with title

 

For more information and citation examples, please use EasyBib from the “Research Assistance” page on the School Library website or consult the MLA Handbook website (http://www.mlahandbook.org/).


 

 

 

CPS/NHS School Librarian